Life on the Dark Side

“I started a blog.” I said cheerfully one evening while eating dinner with the family.  (No comment)  “It’s called Laura’s Cheap Tricks.” I say throwing a little more enthusiasm into my voice and really trying to show my excitement for this new step in my life.  (No comment)  “Have you seen it?” I ask, now a little cautious.  “Yeah I saw the postings.”  “Well, what do you think?  Fun, huh?”  “Weeeeell, you seem to have gotten a good response and some interesting feedback on the recent postings.  And I guess that’s what counts.”  “What does that mean?”  “I just don’t want you to become one of them.”  Well at that point the conversation was over no matter what was said I didn’t hear it…because I felt betrayed and I mentally closed down.

So my husband thinks I have gone over to the dark side, become one of them…those coupon hoarding junkies who obsess over every little detail until their family is left with no choice but to contact TLC and schedule a national TV intervention.  He’s a private person who laughs at those folks we see on TV.  He is now worried he will become one of them.  Alas, I try to assure him it is not true.  One a day.  That is it…and no coupon cutting…that’s the rule.  However, his comments weigh heavily on my thoughts.

I do have one of those detail obsessive personalities.  Could I get caught up?  Is that a bad thing?  And although I am a strong independent woman.  He is my partner and I would like his (well, approval sounds so 1800’s) his…his…(blessing is too 1960’s)  his…his…. support.

I was never much of a diary person as a kid.  And as a blog this is very public posting which makes it alluring and dangerous.  Part of the draw.  For now, I think I will take it just one day at a time.  (Publish.)

About laurascheaptricks

Laura is a mom entrepreneur who owns a successful television production company in the greater Washington DC area. As the daughter of a couple of WW2/victory garden parents she is a free - associative thinker and often explores new and more efficient ways to accomplish tasks and save money. "I come by naturally."
This entry was posted in Laura's Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

