Laura’s Cheap Trick #14

Consider Buying Generic Make-Up Over Name Brands.

Yup it’s true – It’s a trick I learned as a poor and experimental college student.  I have watched those well made commercials and often found myself sucked in to the various claims of youth or beauty.  As a recently independent person I longed to buy the products my mother thumbed her nose at…But when at the store and seeing the price tag on some of these glamor products and knowing what was actually in my wallet…well I too bought the cheaper alternatives…Now there is actual evidence to back up my cheap decision.

If a manufacturer does not patent their product an exact replica will be on the shelves under a generic name.  Even if they do patent the ingredients…often the generic is only one small change away from the 2 or 3x more expensive alternative.

Let me assure you once you take the packaging off generally you no longer can find any markings to indicate you did not shell out twice the dough.  Here is a great list of some of the companies with great generic offerings.  LIST

As always there are exceptions…

I don’t like to buy make-up at the dollar store…Don’t have a reason other than my gut feeling….

If you have particularly sensitive skin prone to break-out or rash be conscientious about buying hypo-allergenic brands and know that you may need to brand sample until you find the right one for you.

About laurascheaptricks

Laura is a mom entrepreneur who owns a successful television production company in the greater Washington DC area. As the daughter of a couple of WW2/victory garden parents she is a free - associative thinker and often explores new and more efficient ways to accomplish tasks and save money. "I come by naturally."
This entry was posted in Make up and Beauty, Standard Cheap Tricks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

