Laura’s Cheap Trick #27

Make it Yourself. (Food Specialties)

Homemade jam, yogurt, cookies, pies, bread…all of the above.  Make it yourself.  It is better tasting, better for you, and a personally rewarding result.

This tip came about when my daughter began the great school fundraiser push…one of the items on the list are frozen ready to bake cookies.  And let’s face it there is nothing like consuming a fresh from the oven warm cookie.  That was when it struck me…why don’t I make my own rolls of dough and freeze them for a fresh treat of my own.  This tip has two benefits, I am no longer wondering what to do with 6 dozen cookies (usually eating them) and I get a cheaper more delicious treat when I want it.  (8 minutes later)

Not everybody can be great at all creations.  But give it a go and find one or two items you specialize in.  For me it is chocolate chip cookies.

About laurascheaptricks

Laura is a mom entrepreneur who owns a successful television production company in the greater Washington DC area. As the daughter of a couple of WW2/victory garden parents she is a free - associative thinker and often explores new and more efficient ways to accomplish tasks and save money. "I come by naturally."
This entry was posted in Food, General Commerce, How to Save money, Standard Cheap Tricks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

