I burned the toast today…

When I was a child there is one sound guaranteed to get every kid in the house running downstairs as fast as possible to the breakfast table.  It was the sound of the toast being scraped.  I know some of you know what I am talking about…It means mom has burned one of those precious slices and if I don’t get down there first I will end up eating previously burnt toast partially scrapped into the sink.  No kid wanted the burnt toast.

However, coming from a waste not want not mentality nothing was thrown away in our household.  So the blackened sides received a good scraping and someone ate it.  In my youth my sisters and I would whimper if we got stuck with those slices.  I can to this day remember my grandmother soothing my attitude with her amazing words and actions making sure every last charcoal speck removed and offering just the right tone to make me rethink my selfish behavior.  (Did you know movie stars used burnt toast scraping on their tooth brushes to whiten their teeth?

Today I still burn the toast.  Amazing, it seems to be the one mechanical devise in our homes that has not gotten better over time.  But I now know that with the proper scraping I can still consume it without problem.  And with those memories firmly seated I do so without even a second thought.  Most times.

Today I admit it was too far gone and I decided to be selfish and toast new bread but, I did give my burnt offering up to the squirrels and birds.

About laurascheaptricks

Laura is a mom entrepreneur who owns a successful television production company in the greater Washington DC area. As the daughter of a couple of WW2/victory garden parents she is a free - associative thinker and often explores new and more efficient ways to accomplish tasks and save money. "I come by naturally."
This entry was posted in Food, Laura's Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

